Map Unavailable

Virtual French Music Hour with Mark Markham


Date/Time
Date(s) - 06/20/2020
10:00 am - 11:00 am

Categories


Virtual French Music Hour with Mark Markham (fête de musique française)

In honor of Fête de la Musique (an annual music celebration with French origins), AFH is proud to present this virtual hour with pianist, Mark Markham. Many AFH members recall Markham and his extraordinary concert of French and American Songbook music at the home of AFH members Peter and Rosanna Hsi during his visit the summer of 2019. The John Hopkins Distinguished Alumni Award-winning artist plans to return again soon but until then he’s put together a delightful musical treat for AFH.

Markham spent many years as a resident of France, and he has a distinct flair and innate understanding of French music. The internationally established artist is equally at home as a soloist, a collaborator with great singers, a chamber musician, or a jazz pianist, and his interpretations have been praised by the public and press alike and has earned accolades for his technical virtuosity, improvisatory skills, and unparalleled interpretations. 

Markham spent more than 20 years as the pianist to famed American soprano, Jessye Norman (1945-2019). Together they gave nearly 300 performances in over 25 countries, including recitals in Carnegie Hall in New York as well as concerts in London, Tokyo, Paris, Moscow, Tel Aviv, and at the 2002 Nobel Peace Prize presentation to President Jimmy Carter in Oslo.  His recording with Norman on “Roots: My Life, My Song” was nominated for a Grammy Award. 

The hour will consist of a piano performance from his home as well as a lively Q&A with the artist. The event takes place, Saturday, June 20th at 10am HST (1pm PST, 3pm CST, 4pm EST). If you are outside of the US, please be sure to check your local time zone in relation to these. A Zoom meeting invitation and link will be sent to you on Friday, June 19th so stay “musically” tuned!

Tickets are FREE for members and $5 for non-membersNon-members will also receive complimentary membership to the Alliance Française of Hawaii through 31 December 2020.

Booking Cutoff is June 19th, 1:00 PM HST.

The link of Markham, Norman and violist Enrique Santiago in a live performance of Johannes Brahms’s Zwei Gesänge: https://youtu.be/0WDkPDEh9os 

The link of Markham and Norman performing a jazz arrangement of Francis Poulenc’s “Les Chemins de l’Amour” at the Montreux Jazz Festival in Switzerland: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zIGu2hF0t7o

The link of Markham playing a tribute of “Deep River” at Jessye Norman’s Memorial Service in 2019: https://youtu.be/X6tyzr0XGBM  

Sign up Now…
Event starts Soon!

Bookings

Bookings are closed for this event.