Arts and Craft Inspiration with Gail Durham – Montre et Raconte en français


Date/Time
Date(s) - 12/05/2020
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Categories


Saturday, December 5, 2020
9:00 a.m. Hawaiian / 11:00 a.m. Pacific /  1:00 pm Central / 2:00 p.m. Eastern
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
En français

Are you inspired by artists who can fashion beautiful objects from bare elements or recycled materials? Are you also inspired by Anglophones who have a polished command of the French language, speaking it fluently? Then you’ll enjoy this presentation by Gail Durham, a retired French and Spanish teacher whose involvement in the arts goes back decades. She has worked in clay, bronze, letterpress, weaving, paper making, bookbinding, enamel, felt, woodblock printing, wood engraving, drawing, oil and acrylics. A favorite passion is beads, including glass beads, paper beads, ceramic beads, silver beads and even a few bronze beads. In this session, Gail will do a “show and tell” in French on some of her favorite projects – new and old – explaining the processes and the inspiration, which comes from nature. In this format you’ll easily be able to understand new vocabulary and we hope you’ll leave with some inspiration of your own to create art.

This event is suitable for learners of French from low-intermediate to advanced. A specialized vocab list will be provided in the chat. Children, ages 8 and up, are also welcome to attend.

This event will be on Zoom and is free for all Alliance Française members, AATF members, and invited guests of the presenter.  Non-members or persons who have no AF chapter nearby can purchase tickets ($10). Click here to register.