Pamela Druckerman Presents Paris by Phone


Date/Time
Date(s) - 02/06/2021
7:00 am - 8:00 am

Categories


Saturday, February 6, 2021
7am Hawaii / 10:00am PST / 11:00am MST / 12:00pm CST / 1:00pm EST / 7:00 pm Paris
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
In English

Author and journalist Pamela Druckerman joins us via Zoom from her home in Paris to present her new rhyming picture book Paris by Phone, and discusses the myth of the American in Paris.

For many Americans, Paris isn’t just a place – it’s a solution, an idea of perfection and the ultimate Plan B. In her new children’s picture book Paris By Phone, Pamela Druckerman explores this through the story of one little girl. Josephine Harris is an ardent young Francophile who decides that Paris is where she really belongs. She even manages to travel there, using her magic phone. But then, oh là là! Despite the lovely things she saw, Josephine feels a certain je ne sais quoi.

Pamela is a contributing opinion writer at The New York Times and author of the best-selling Bringing Up Bébé. She’ll join us for a lively discussion about the genesis of her new book, her own experience as a Parisienne, and the history and meaning of the American-in-Paris story.

This event will be on Zoom and is free for all Alliance Française members, AATF members, and invited guests of the presenter. Non-members or persons who have no AF chapter nearby can purchase tickets ($10). Click here to register.